Spending Problem
How does the saying go?
- Illinois doesn't have a revenue problem - it has a spending problem
Developers of Pullman’s historic Hotel Florence and the surrounding area announced plans to create a “mind-blowing entertainment experience” that is mixed with history and a new hub for local artists to showcase their talents — all headlined by a “world class” music venue.
The roughly $100 million revitalization project will transform the nearly 145-year-old hotel within the Pullman National Historic Park into a boutique hotel with new restaurants. The hotel’s annex will be rehabilitated and a concert hall will be added in the old Pullman Factory across the street.
Construction is set to begin in March 2027, with its completion expected in late 2028.
[...] The Illinois Department of Natural Resources provided $21 million in funding, making the project the largest public-private partnership for the department
That $100 million could likely be used for something else instead of enriching construction companies for a "boutique" hotel in a neighborhood that no one goes to.
Labels: money questions, state politics









56 Comments:
This hotel has been the subject of several revitalization plans, complete with city, state and federal grants over the past thirty years and all have failed. Knock it down already.
Governor JB Pritzker said it’s only taxpayers money!
Yes, who’s going to go to this god forsaken area? Who is going to profit off it? Who gets the contracts on the restaurants?
I said the same thing when it came across my news feed yesterday. Rap concerts and hotel parties with stole credit cards aren't going to save that shithole. Dead and buried long time now. I predict within 5 years of the money changing hands the glorious Florence will either be abandoned or burned down by the ever thankful members of the local free shit militia. They always have money for new bullshit projects while they don't pay the existing bills or maintain anything in chicago. We'll bonehead gotta get his grift on soon, gonna be out of a job and his hair and makeup and sneakers don't come cheap.
How else is a businessman/political contributor suppose to kick back contributions to a politician(s) if there are no taxpayer dollars available for projects?
I live in Pullman and none of this is wanted. Ask some people what happened a few years ago when the neighborhood was given a $1 million dollar grant for the market hall stabilization project. Guy stabilizing the building was abruptly fired after the funds ran out. A few people got their pockets fattened.
Do the naming rights go to the Hyatt hotel chain or a Pritzker buffet project?
Agreed. Whilst the Florence was a lovely old hotel, it's not in any busy and or safe area. Perhaps they're counting on the new housing development in the old steel area to bring in locals? We all know it will turn into another hell hole. Look at the entire south side and southern suburbs. They were decent and safe, well maintained areas arvone time, spare a few isolated, well contained areas.
Besides, who wants to travel through all that traffic and risk becoming a sitting duck in the outdoor shooting gallery? Could it be, a vain attempt to keep da yutes out of the loop and north sides?
These politiliars love wasting money.
What a fuckin waste of money!!!
Only Porkulous would spend that much money on such a worthless project. Demolish the property. Nobody cares.
P. S. How's the pension fund doing?
Priorities.
This will not happen. Funding will fall short, projections will go over 100 million,
This project is pure waste. Decent people will not stay at that hotel.
that pullman area/neighborhood was real nice back in its day, when the people living there actually worked for a living, took care of their property and did not let their kids run around downtown robbing and beating people up
Wait a minute....why is money being taken from DNR for that? Can anyone actually point me to that source or actually verify? This is problematic.
And what kind of “entertainment from local artists?”
Oh Boy! Will need to detail a lot of beat cars, once the location is up and running. More Baby sitting.
I’ve been all over the interior of this hotel, filming the show “Monster” about Ed Gein (it stood in as the old Wisconsin state asylum).
Incredibly cool building with a level of craftsmanship in the finish work that the US hasn’t seen for half a century or more. Beautiful.
Problem is, I can’t see it being brought up to residency standards for $100 mil, ESPECIALLY if you include the Annex building. This later addition was so unstable that the film crew wasn’t even allowed to enter (& I believe a portion of one wall even collapsed during filming?).
There’s a great cafe nearby & many elderly neighbors with an interest in the area’s history, but… economically, zero going on (apart from the Walmart where we were told a local cop always shoplifts). Perfect example of where the Obamas SHOULD have built their temple, had they actually been interested in revitalizing a black southside neighborhood & not just parking a shrine to their vanity in the middle of one of the wealthiest neighborhoods in the entire city…
They can't even prevent mass shootings in River North. I predict 10 dead on opening night.
Like they still keep the Steele supports on the church (synagogue) just north of HQ like someday it’s going to be rebuilt. What does it have like two walls standing? It burned 20 years ago and nothing had been done so just tear it down and put some tax generating condos or rental units.
What is going on in Illinois is not new in Blue states. Millions in grant money to non-government groups for various projects, all depending on the political clout of the requesting groups. No accountability, no assessments of efficiency or effectiveness and when you look closely at how the money is spent, most of it goes for salaries and benefits. Just buying votes and clout.
If only “Wild Bill” Callahan was still alive to see this shaming of the once glorious Hotel Florence.
I saw this story on the news and wondered to myself, who would actually go to Pullman and spend the night. Now I believe these neighborhoods will never get better until all of these progressive move in and start becoming part of the solution.
They used to have a nice lunch there with a tour afterwards.
"God forsaken area"...LoL...!
Look for rooms to be rented by the hour.
What you talking about Willis!?
The new EL extension will be bringing tourists to Pullman by the tens.
It's the land of burning dirt. Who is going there?
https://x.com/DataRepublican/status/2026991093632700439?s=20
This project isn’t intended for decent people
Why are the funds coming from the Dept. of Natural Resources? Shouldn't that money be going to State Parks, waterways and natural areas?
That’s the West Pullman area. A few miles away from what we are talking about.
He actually said he can do it for $1 million. It’s still there now nothing’s happening.
When the Historic Pullman Foundation man hotel it was open to visitors a great branch area and Neighbors used to come in on Friday nights at the bar ever since the state and nation took it over. Nothing‘s happened.
Before the state took it over and nation, it had about 130 to 150,000 visitors a year
💯 agree.
This will be a Putzker Owned Hyatt Hotel as soon as the project is finished.
I'd have more respect for them if they turned it into a nice homeless shelter, something severely needed. Since they're not migrants it won't happen.
People calling Pullman a cesspool are probably thinking of West Pullman. Stay east of the viaduct and historic Pullman is actually a nice area with plenty of professionals living there (including active and retired police). Recent developments have brought some food (mostly fast food though) and business on the borders. The concert venue thing sounds like a terrible idea that would actually bring garbage to the area. But historic Pullman itself isn't bad.
The Chicago voter deserves everything that is happening.
FatA$$ is going to get roasted like the pigster he is. If you haven't heard of this woman, you're going to love her. She's digging into porky! Need to keep an eye on this!
https://x.com/DataRepublican/status/2026991093632700439
"That $100 million could likely be used for something else..."
Onl;y $20M is from the state, which may be. a waste, but leverages $80M in private funding. Google StreetView shows the building in reasonable condition as of 2022.
Just A Civiian (who wouldn't invest in that neighborhood, but the $80M is not my money)
I would love to stay at The Florence. Then I could go shopping on " The Ave " and get some things at Gateleys.
can't wait for all shootings at the rapper concerts
Brunch on Sundays also.
Enjoyed the food and tours.
Take the Metra. it’s a half a block away.
I have to agree. I was down there only a few months ago.
It’s a national park genius
Stabbing cabin
Shorter drive to attend a Hammond Bears game
I saw a video of Chicago Flips Red making fun of his stupid-looking sneakers after a city council meeting. No normal human being would own a pair of sneakers that looked as ghetto as Conehead's!
No one ever talks about the black woman who was awarded $1 million to rehab the old Pullman / CFD fire house on 108th into a community center.
She got the money and ran. Last I was by the the entire back of the building is rapped in steel mesh so it doesn’t fall apart
American Catholics can stay at the Hotel Florence while making their pilgrimage to Pope Leo's childhood home in Dolton, a short 12 minute drive of only 5.7 miles. Just an idea!
The bucket 🪣 beaters from 87th and DanRyan Dwayne will perform every Wednesday, subway singers on weekends .
Wild Bill is a legend.
On the one hand, the revenue from parking overstays, speed violations in school zones, the lack of a city permit and other infractions provide revenue badly needed for righteous programs in a cash-strapped city. On the other, these fines clearly discriminate against less affluent Chicagoans because fines are standardized.
Wouldn’t that be a great thing to do. we know unfortunately it will never happen.boarded up store fronts and empty lots. I was a young kid from the area and go by the Florence and look at it in awe not $100M in awe though. Back then Pullman was full of bust outs and dirtbags one step away from a room at the Y on 111th.
Post a Comment
<< Home