Sounds Like CPS
How long until some lawyers here jumps on this bandwagon?
A Connecticut college student is suing the Hartford Board of Education and the city of Hartford for negligence.
Nineteen-year-old Aleysha Ortiz says she graduated from high school with honors and earned a college scholarship, but she can’t read or write.
[...] Ortiz graduated from the Hartford Public Schools system last year, but she says she is now illiterate and still doesn’t know how to read or write.
With less than half of students in CPS reading at grade level, this might be fruitful grounds for massive class action payouts....especially if Police disengage and opportunities dry up.
Labels: sarcasm AND silliness









53 Comments:
If this works out the CPS children will own the school system in Chicago.
The chikins have come home too roost!
“….. this might be fruitful grounds for massive class action payouts...”
Because of the incompetence of the public school systems, we the taxpayers will pay with increased taxes. Pretty soon when people can’t afford the taxes they will just come and take your house and car. Democrat Marxism is here to stay.
It’s not just public schools, there’s a history of even private schools doing this. I have a friend who worked at Providence St. Mel’s. She said colleges were throwing scholarships at the students with very little effort on the part of many of those students receiving them. At the same time, she had two kids (m/2) that graduated cum laud & valedictorian respectfully at their own high school. Neither received academic scholarships & they weren’t a well off family, but her kids didn’t meet a demographic. She said it was frustrating, but she also knew her boys were far better prepared for college than the students she saw being pushed thru St. Mel’s and given academic scholarships from prestigious colleges. I came from a family where college was a luxury. Only one of us ever graduated from college and that was because they had a GI Bill. The rest of us took the adult education route- work & school. When I was young, I was impressed by college degrees and people who went away to green leafy campuses because that wasn’t my reality. More often now, I feel degrees are meaningless because I know how low the bar has been set. When you hear 40% of an Ivy league’s incoming students claim a “disability” for test time & course work considerations, it’s all silliness. Another friend, teaches at DePaul and cannot wait for retirement bc the administration is placating the irresponsible behavior and lack of commitment by students more and more each year. Colleges & Universities are degree mills sitting atop billions in endowments. They’ve done nothing but expand administrative costs and pay some ridiculously hefty salaries to university presidents. All while tuition costs climb and many woefully prepared for anything useful.
I bet she knows how to be woke, though.
She can be the next governor of California
So she passed with honors but is still illiterate?! Did I read that write? (see what I did there, lol)
Chicago is a Target rich environment.
Just check the CPS IG case load.
Out of 8th grade and to this very day I can rapidly tell you the capitol of every state. High school kids today can’t tell time on a face clock nor can they name two states that begin with the letter W. But they sure are passionate about orange man being bad and everyone being a rayyyysist. As if it’s by design.
Her university(!) is "accommodating" her. Well, that's what her K-12 schools did, too. So now she'll be granted a degree despite having a sub-middle-school education, and the rest of society will be expected to "accommodate" her by hiring and promoting her.
Don't you just love pass throughs and grifters?
Another ghetto lottery payout. Sigh. A new spin on the gimme scam.
How can you not know you're illiterate? What happened to ...ahh never mind. 🤦🏼♀️🤦🏼♀️🤦🏼♀️🤦🏼♀️ My head hurts.
Great idea! Students sue CTU for refusing to teach and for indoctrination to the radicalized Left.
Hmmm, can t read or write..no problem just file for disability.
Was not only accepted into college but earned a scholarship, but can’t read. These Dems have really done a disservice to America.
I graduated from grade school, high school and college in Illinois....
I want my money back.
I worked in the military where I left as a E-5 and then the CPD, but have passed every promotion test, but not made any promotion in CPD?
I claim that my skin color has limited me promotions. Can you guess what color I am? Sorry but it had to be asked.
yet these "honor roll" kids here in cps still get diploma's they can't read and then a job at mc'donalds making $25 an hour
Clearly Chicago needs Learing Centers to fill the education gap.
Why didn’t she apply herself in school and try to learn? If she was having problems she should have tried to get a tutor. Where is the culpability for her and her family in this?
Interesting lawsuit. This young lady was given a free education, defective, but free to her. With added flourishes (honors, awards, a diploma) but free. She was given credentials that got her admitted to college. So her complaint is that the free thing she received was not of the quality that the people paying for it expected. I'd say the taxpayers have grounds for suing the teachers and administrators for fraud... but not her.
At the end of the day, she's right to sue. Once the teachers get paid they couldn't give a shit what happens to her, but she's out there now going WTF do I do now? Illiterate doesn't even qualify for fast food...
I thought this was a story from the Bee. Don't they give an ACT/SAT test for college admission anymore.
Everything CPS accomplishes only benefits the CTU, this is why they are pushing the DEI initiative stuff. Can't read, that's OK we will force them to hire you anyway.
Shouldn't not teaching these students the basics and only teaching them only what you want them to know be considered racist.
Yep also happens a private Catholic schools like Mount Carmel. The running joke was what did Antoine Walker get on his ACT? BBQ sauce.
Useless? I have degrees from Jerry Lewis University and St. Javier University what do you have?
Lawyers are chomping at their bits.
If you graduated public schools as an illiterate who can't read or write, thank the teachers union.
Spot on.
It has to stop somewhere.
Have to wonder what her ACT/SAT was? Or if school are still ignoring that because of COVID.
At any time in the 12 plus years of schooling, did this young woman ever raise her hand and say, I don't get it? Of course personal responsibility isn't taught in public schools.
Only in America!
70% of the freshman class at Notre Dame, the university, are on psych meds.
Time to head to a trade school.
I think if you applied for a job at McDonald’s and showed them your Chicago State University degree even they wouldn’t hire you.
I once had a newly promoted supervisor ask me to look over the reports being turned in by his beat cars because he had to leave early. The department was sending him to remedial reading classes.
Talk about chutzpah...this girl's got plenty of it
cps honor roll class teaches the white kids they are the oppressors and the black kids they are oppressed
As the CTU is a jobs program to keep teachers employed, students are passed from year to year to keep classrooms full. Many can’t read or write. Not a problem. City Colleges of Chicago has open enrollment so the students are “in college” but end up in remedial coursework or pre-credit courses. Shocked to read this sentence from a student enrolled in City Colleges…He have he books.
Years ago Festus asked Doc on Gunsmoke, "why should I learn to read when I don't know if the fella that rote the ritten rote the ritten right?" Still apropos?
I red that right.
Daley Community College on the south side was much, much harder in 1990 than Colorado State University was in 2015. It was a night and day experience. They won’t fail you no matter how poorly you do.
Give me a clue. Pronounce the last word in your post.
After I retired from the CPD I became an adjunct professor in the City College of Chicago Jr. College system. Almost all of the students were graduates of the Chicago Public School System. I taught 100 level classes which are freshman /entry level classes. The vast majority of my students had to take remedial English and Math classes. What was so sickening was the fact that most all of the CPS students wrote as they talked. (I bees that, I fetch em) Hardly any knew what a term paper was, let alone how to write one. i taught from 1998 to 2014. This is nothing new, it's been going on for a very long time.
This is why DEI is so important.
“…earned a college scholarship.” EARNED? As in “earned not given”?
Generally speaking, college and universities produce graduates who can eventually do well and are comparable to high school graduates of yesteryear. In other words, they could read, write and think for themselves. Today's grads not so much. Keep paying through the ass to keep these institutions of higher learning??? rich while they produce mediocrity.
How stupid do you have to be, that it takes 12 years for someone to realize they can’t read.
Germany, another country that is done. German police have problems finding candidates who know the German language.
https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2026/02/mass-migration-crisis-nearly-40-berlin-police-applicants/
"Clearly Chicago needs Learing Centers to fill the education gap."
2/26/2026 07:35:37 AM
*
You the devil. You gotta go. You can remember things more than a week old.
Is that unmarked Mpls alley door the "community" female sexual health clinic, run by the "daya," the lady with filth caked under her nails and half a snapped-off razor blade?
Just uncovered another $6.5 billion or so in California Republic fraud-with-a-bear; independent reporter driving around documenting about 42 hospices operating in a four-block area...
I went to southwest Jr College before they changed it to Daley. It was in trailers. It was full of radical professors even then. Lot of fun though. Nothing like katlick high school.
College is a huge scam. Why do they have to take math and english and other BS courses for a field your going into? Its all a money grab by these places. Teach mfer's what they need to know in the field they are going into. They should already have had math and english and the other BS courses they require. Fucking scam and indoctrination camps.
Interesting point. It appears the "takers and other gimmes" are not happy with "free" as in their education. Let's sue for the failure of free stuff and get more free money by suing. A scam within a scam. Just love the idea that one can't read or write coherently but graduate with "honors".
Education/educators/CTU are full of shyt. Higher learning is laughable at best and their diploma, in a pinch, ass wipe.
BTW: Yes, there are good educators, but they are overcome by CTU/administrative swill.
At one time not so far back in ancient history high schools taught Greek and Latin, now colleges and universities teach remedial English.
You fail as a leftist. According to the left, those "basics" - reading, speaking correctly, writing coherently, and especially math - are racist! Why? Because certain demographics struggle to learn them! So leftist indoctrination - which is really easy because it's based on envy and greed (I want what you have but I don't want to do any of the work you did to get it) - is the easiest curriculum for those who fail at academics.
Post a Comment
<< Home