This is a New One
We'll echo what the lawyer said in this article - we had never heard of this happening, ever:
A Chicago police officer was about an hour and a half into a deposition Friday morning over one of dozens of misconduct allegations against him as a member of an embattled North Side tactical team when the officer’s attorney requested a break.
The officer, [...], left the room and did not come back. A few moments later, per a motion filed aturday, [...]’s attorney told the other lawyers that the deposition would need to continue another time, because a CPD sergeant had taken the officer to police headquarters so that [...] could be relieved of his police powers.
“This was — to put it mildly — an unusual development,” the motion states.
The information sent the long-delayed deposition grinding to a halt and makes [...] the latest member of the 1863 tactical team to be stripped of his police powers or reassigned as complaints and lawsuits about the officers have stacked up.
Attorney Jordan Marsh, who is representing the plaintiffs in the case that brought [...] into court that day, described the interruption in a motion as “unprecedented in the collective experience of Plaintiffs’ counsel, and likely the experience of all counsel in this matter.” He later said he hadn’t seen anything like it occur in 30 years of practicing law.
We're aware that the plaintiff attorney is likely following the pattern of all plaintiff attorneys in suits against the city - amplify the (unsubstantiated) allegations in the hopes of driving a settlement their way.
But being stripped in the middle of a deposition?
Highly unusual.
Labels: department issues, scandals









93 Comments:
Hey Bud, Thats not how they do it at cook county department of corrections. They just make you resign before getting stripped. Then you get a city job.
The BIA investigator was told OT was not authorized for the strip, therefore he couldn’t wait for the deposition to finish. And that’s that.
This guy got 68 complaints in just under 8 years. Thats pretty insane. Maybe Barz shouldn’t have disregarded that letter from COPA when that team racked up 50. All he had to do was sit them down, explain that it’s too hot for them right now, put them in a decent spot and off the tac teams and these guys would have been fine. By the way, I also see both sides of this, the plaintiffs attorney Jordon Marsh is a scumbag. He use to work for Corp Council defending coppers. He was pretty good but he started playing dirty in the cases and got into some bad spots with judges after screwing cases up. Ultimately he was gone and went to suing the police and is a massive city and police hater now. He use to be a decent guy with actual morals. Now he’s an ambulance chaser who sold his soul for the almighty dollar. It’s his revenge against the city for screwing him.
I guess the department didn’t want him talking. They can strip anybody anytime what was the urgency?
Jordan Marsh used to be good when he worked for the city.
Sad to see he switched teams and is chasing the dollar bills now.
RR, looks like your untouchable cockiness caught up to you. The five foot two midget could not stop stepping on his dick and would be the first to throw anyone under the bus. The female officers of 018 are now free from his unwanted advances.
RR, the tactical midget of 018
Couldnt happen to more an asshole. Good Riddance.
Is this the guy who talks so ghetto on zone 4?
That’s one way for the Department to keep stuff quiet about the charges? If the Sgt went to deposition with city paid attorney, why would he return to finish deposition? His city paid attorney just lost the funding? This shows how deep the $hit is in this case. And the rest of the team may be next?
Larry can answer this,...after he does some push-ups...new dolly reporter in crowd you see
This 1863 team scandal is the biggest scandal since Jerry Finnegan and his crew from Unit 153 were doing damage.
Looks like one of the 1863 team has put in resignation papers?
Stripped for being the police. Unfortunately this is the future for all the other officers who go against the movement. We will never beat the politicians. 1863 is getting fried because the democrats cannot have on record, a record number of 143A pulls in an area that is deemed to be “safe.” Racist democrats need to keep it contained in the south and west sides
What did they do with his gun because without a star you can't carry.
Part of 018 tact! Another stupid youngster listening to the voice in order to get most likely a early duck extra day off whatever and now the boss is happy smiling, and these guys will be going to the penitentiary and losing everything
I cannot think of any reason to strip an officer during a deposition. In fact, how did they know he was in a deposition and where it was taking place?
Whatever supervisor went and pulled him out of that deposition has to be the biggest idiot around. Why would you think that was a smart decision. Even if the Supt himself called you and told you, you explain the optics of that decision. I assume the supervisors at BIA had places to be and didn’t want to wait.
but,,,but,,,you can't do this to me, if I got all those blue cards my sgt, lt and commander said I would be taken care of
No it shows how stupid the sgt was to pull him out and how stupid the city attorneys were to allow it.
The penitentiary? Whoa dude lay off the dope. They weren't stealing money and drugs like SOS.
When you realize who was representing these guys for these complaints was none other than Jordan Marsch you’ll see that this scum attorney was putting this whole thing into motion for a long time.
Plenty of friends at corp counsel have told me that this POS attorney was stealing files and providing them to outside counsel for a long time. On his way out the door he also took a number of case files with him. He’s always been a two-faced scum who was most likely being paid on both sides.
How is it possible this same attorney represents every one of the lawsuits against this team? You’d think that a few different attorneys would have been contacted to take lawsuits, not the same attorney on all of them. That’s just a little conspicuous don’t you think?
This wasn’t being the police-this was an out of control team who got attaboys from their supervisors for stopping only drivers of a certain demograph and searching vehicles. But go ahead, use their stupidity as an excuse to do nothing on the job. Our department is full of whiners like you.
Seems like a moron move by the Sgt. Why not wait till afterwards?
68? Rookie Numbers
He switched teams because he was fired by Corp Counsel for hiding evidence. He was / is one helluva litigator, and even though he was working for our side, in the end he is dirty.
Lowered hiring standards will get you this.
Dont mess with the bull son, youll get the horns!
I dont need to be a lawyer to say, your all fucked! Sad to say but good riddance to suck ups that make this Dept look bad.
BIA needs to be completely dismantled, gatekeepers of Corruption 🤷🏽♀️
He took "his" gun home.
At this point no one should do ANYTHING but answer jobs and write reports, and make arrests ONLY if it cannot be avoided and that includes them resisting/fleeing. ANYTHING hot needs a supervisor, containment, deescalation and SWAT. Give them what they want and nothing more.
Trudat
What?
That's what I was thinking as I read it. Sounds to me like the department was protecting someone the officer was going to testify about. It is time to name names SCC. No more protecting any of these corrupt boss holes.
Every tack-tickle member should be very afraid right now. Do not ask for whom the bell tolls.
Just a matter of time before 018 tact Lt's (past and present ) are called in and questioned on the record for the actions of their subordinates. Tick Tock gentlemen.........::
You have zero clue about what went on in SOS and trying to compare it to 018 Tact.
That midget was violating human & civil rights
When are the supervisors going to be held accountable for this? There is documentation that Barz , captain and tact Lt were all aware of this and kept telling them to get numbers
Now entering the, every man for himself territory.
Damn..where are our future bosses going to go for training? Its not like their Daddys are going to send them to 07 to be trained??
Got stripped in the middle of a deposition because the Department saw what direction it was going and was trying to save themselves the embarrassment of this guy's still walking around out there with police powers.
What kind of illegal or horrible things was he doing and how did his supervision allow this?
Was it worth it?
No.
And comparatively speaking, the allegations of the 1863 team are absolutely NOTHING compared to what SOS was doing.
The guys in 005 got off, and their allegations weren’t nearly dubious as what’s been put on 1863.
The feds want this guy bad
Because he named names!
This copper's issues even made it to a You Tube video...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dl8remcHrW4
That is one way to get out of a deposition!
If you find a illegal gun on a traffic stop the attorney tells the offender to put a complaint on th officer for unlawfull search. I have complaints for backing officers and was waved off
Dork
Now strip that Sgt for pulling him out in the middle of a deposition. Who does that?
Somewhere Kevin Lusk and his smelly self are smiling about this
I have been in depositions (because of the work I do) anyway whenever I am being deposed "my sides" attorney is in the room. Maybe the Sgt. said something anti-shitty of Shitcago & his own attorney dropped a dime to downtown & then that attorney asked for the break & the city had to act fast to destroy his credibility?? Not the police, don't know all the facts & sounds like we never will. I never underestimate the power of the government. Sadly no one helps each other anymore even if they are paid to do just that. Most people are too busy climbing over bodies to get to the top. Think about how many bosses sold Joe/Gina officer out just so they could climb over them. This world is not what it was 30-40 years ago.
Question is-Assmnan, can you cover 018 until these guys get their shit straightened out?
He's not a police hater. He's just playing the game. I know him. He's no different then the defense attorneys at 26/cal, most of whom are big police supporter's.
How does the city not have a clause in the city attorney contract that prohibits the attorney from working at a firm that sues the city after leaving employment with the city?
Also, it would be interesting to see the line of questioning before the “emergency”stripping. Sounds like a bigger fish was about to be on the hook. Was it Hein? Was it Barz? Tact Lt? Their Sgt?
I’m guessing the following questions will go unanswered and the lawsuit will be settled now to avoid implicating any important people…. And the patsy officers will ride out a few years at callback before a modest suspension… if they don’t name names.
Jordan Marsh was disciplined by the ARDC:
Case Summary Mr. Marsh, who was licensed in 1993, was suspended for ninety days. While employed at the City of Chicago’s Office of the Corporation Counsel, he defended the City and some of its police officers in various litigation matters. In one such matter, shortly before the case was set for trial, he learned that the City possessed recordings of police radio transmissions that had been requested but had not produced to the plaintiffs during the discovery process. Upon learning this additional material existed, Mr. Marsh failed to either obtain the information, advise plaintiffs’ counsel of its existence or notify the court of the newly-discovered materials. The suspension is effective on October 13, 2017.
This sounds like the work of the incompetent Sgt. E. Welch......
This dude was shitting the bed so badly during the deposition, his lawyer got IAD there on the double to shut this guys crazy testimony down.
I work in 018 and didn't know him by name, but as soon as someone said tact midget, I knew exactly who he is.
I worked a tier at cook county department of corrections I could do that standing on one leg
Not even in the same universe. SOS was stealing money, drugs, orchestrating murder for hire plots.
1863 did traffic stops with no ISR receipt.
Because he took another job, which was already planned prior to being stripped.
The only time we were told to get numbers was when Hein was the commander. Seriously, that’s the only time since I’ve been on this job that I heard a commander say he wanted more of X, Y and Z.
I think that he even called the LTs to his office daily to go over their numbers.
Majority of these cases are back when BOP chief Hein was running the show. Wonder how he escapes all the attention all the time from these guys. This was his personal hit squad when he was there. He let that team do whatever they wanted/whenever they wanted. He still drinks with most of those guys.
Unless they pull your fpid card u can carry. Its more a polite don't get into any deeper shit so just don't carry
And what about their Sgt. It seems Hein buried him in Gang Intel and he is walking away unscathed.
Let's see if the Judge sanctions CPD for interfering with a court ordered proceeding.
Obviously BIA person knows nothing about court proceedings. Maybe they will find out what "contempt" means.
Just like Tori Hamilton. She was an ASA, then corp counsel. Now she uses all that insider info, and contacts, to make money suing police. Dark side.
Yeah but what do they have to answer to?? Not one supervisor was in the car or present for these stops. So nothing there. They can ask, “did you push for numbers and tell them to stop black people??”… No… no I didn’t. I told them to go out and do their job and never told them to target people of color or violate any rules of the department or laws. End of deposition..
Are you kidding? You must not go to court much. Or you are a troll.
Go get a CCL. You’re still a citizen.
You sound stupid.
What over time? Dumbasss
It wasn’t any of that. It was the incompetent Sgt that thought he was above all and was following an order. He didnt want to wait around downtown on a Friday, so he pulled him early.
BIA was shutting down every complaint that came in against the mope and the team. Complaint after complaint. The Investigator realized he dropped the ball and doesn’t want it on the record. Tim Moore is too busy sitting on him fat ass, hiding behind the computer, while the BIA Investigators run the unit like Death Row Records.
The level of incompetence in the BIA is unbelievable these days. The amount of BIA investigators that believe they deserve a Merit Lieutenant spot is disgusting.
The first sanction.
They want the offer to the keep quiet. They have to protect the brass.
Corp Council bed with Torreya Hamilton. She trained most of them.
David
Bro what
Sounds like you have a crush on him
😂😂😂
63 team has nobody to blame but themselves. Could have told bosses without telling them to fuck off. Instead you bowed your heads to MB and DK and warped and entire office into scrutiny. All for what? A promotion? Extra days off? Oh no… to be stripped and the bosses no where to be found who “ got your backs “.
You guys can play the game that is offered to you (drink the cool-aid) or take a page out of The OG Cop’s Playbook and play your own game. Finance your house for 15 years and pay it off sooner. Drive a 4 cylinder Japanese car; it will probably last you for over 20 years. That is enough for your to retire with a pension. You do not need a $1,000 car payment, because you are not impressing anyone; we know how much money you make. After you retire, sell your house that you only made the required repairs on (no fancy upgrades) for over double of what you paid for. And sell it “as is.”
Here is a bonus professional tip; earn a useful degree from a legitimate school. It is a beautiful thing, because the city will pay for it. As of right now, some of you do not have the skills required to write a decent resume. Now, you are running with the best.
Do not let this job have an iron clad leash on you. If you let that happen, then you will be working until the mandatory retirement age and making pension payments so that the early retirees can get paid.
And the best type of revenge against your yokel acquaintances is living better than they do, especially the dispatchers; you can have your second house in a great neighborhood acquired well before you retire.
And the lesson is over.
Signed,
The OG Cop
Jordan Marsh got the boot out of Corp Council, under Rahm Emmanuel, after he took the downfall for attempting to hide the LaQuan MsDonald video tape.
Who was the incompetent sergeant??
Where is the CL number on the sergeantBIA sergeant that pulled him out of the deposition? He should be stripped. He just signed the case over.
You on point. Don’t listen to post from BIA losers.
Post a Comment
<< Home