Another "Wrong Address" Payout
Are these warrants being written by DEI hires?
A jury on Wednesday awarded $5.74 million in damages to a Chicago family who accused police of violating their civil rights in a botched raid of their home in 2018.
Ebony Tate and her family filed a federal lawsuit against the city and the officers involved in the raid, accusing police of breaking down their door in the Back of the Yards neighborhood in August 2018, and pointing guns at them. Investigations found officers were in the wrong house and did not properly vet information from a paid informant.
As to the allegations that SWAT pointed weapons at occupants of the address, that might have happened - no Officer on a Search Warrant enters an occupied dwelling with weapons holstered and rifles slung. That would be tactically unsound to say the least.
But once control of the residence has been established, weapons ARE holstered and rifle ARE slung. In most cases, SWAT leaves following entry/securing and leaves the actual searching, arresting and paperwork to the teams that wrote the warrant.
In this case, it didn't stop them from becoming Exhibit A, but procedurally, we really don't see an issue.
Labels: department issues









82 Comments:
Apparently the jury saw 5.7 million procedural issues….
The city created a climate for people to sue the city. I would love to sue the CPD. I would love to be on a jury where someone sues the Bosses.
They got hit with punitive damages. I wouldn’t lift a finger for this city ever again.
A good case can be lost by a poor attorney every time.
Sometimes it's not the case that is the problem, it's the quality of the attorney representing your side.
And the family will get how much after the plaintiff's attorneys take their share?
In federal civil rights violations lawsuits, if the jury awards even one dollar, the winning side is entitled to attorneys fees from the losers. Plaintiff's next motion will be for those fees from the City. But the city will appeal and they will go to the negotiating table again to sort those fees.
That's why trial can be risky and very expensive. Only the attorneys win.
Garbage in, garbage out. Maybe the C/I had a beef with those at the wrong address, however it’s still the responsibility of the Affiant to confirm all the particulars of the warrant. The fat lady, this fiasco, is someone not getting the memo?
They didn’t do their homework before the execution.
Hopefully the supervisor of the team gets credit for checking the affidavit before the warrant was executed.
Just stop with the search warrants with non verifiable info. You could be the departments next fall guy like the sergeant who was just doing his job and got laid out to dry.
The payout is excessive. It is more money than those welfare recipients earn in 5 lifetimes. The amount of the judgment needs to be appealed.
Man I wish someone would serve a search warrant in my house by mistake! It’s like winning the lottery
Big payout coming their way.
OT somewhat: The city also has to refund over 100 million plus interest in parking tickets that it overcharged. This is due to another lawsuit the city lost which was class action. The city still owes police OT over 200 million plus interest. That’s over 300 million probably closer to 400 with interest that it has to payout.
Search warrants are huge part of police work, but since the city handed out free money to Anjanette Young these type payouts are now the norm if you made a mistake or J Doe lied. Fuck the search warrant just like fuck a Terry Stop. This city does their own thing when it comes to law enforcement and that is to stick it to the working copper. Don’t be the guy sitting at call back or the police board regretting doing police work.
Well that money will be gone in six months
The police can falsely raid my house ANYTIME. I can cry and wail about how it traumatized me and then laugh all the way to the bank in Acapulco.
Ok this was a great comment lol
That’s usually the case in civil suits, more than likely it’ll get dropped when the city attys go for appeal then they’ll settle
Remember whe we took Clines class on search warrant procedures?
I think he wa a little goofy. But still have his packet of documents and never had a Search overturned. Did over 30 on tactical and 15 more as a detective. You live or fall on your paperwork. Also your warrant needs an after action report from each officer on scene. Documenting thier location and actions during execution of event. Even with BWC.
There needs to be written records of event. Not just one report.
People have internal camers and winning big settlements as seen in this case using cpd bwc.
This is what happens when you put your faith in a Hype
On the bright side, they’ll piss the money away within a year.
A group of masked up armed men invade your house and you don’t see an issue? It would be an issue for me.
Procedurally wrong or not, the writings been on the wall that the city doesn’t want people to work. Keep doin this goofy shit and you’re going be end up in prison at some point.
Just tell them to call 1-800 NEW WOOD. The department carpenter will be out that day to fix the door.
The info can usually be verified, but it takes a bit of patience and surveillance to figure it out. But the CPD tough guys are always in a hurry to break down a door.
The idiots on the Young search warrant did nothing to independently verify the info they got from the CI. Dummies.
For this kind of Money you Guys can kick my door in when ever you want . Let me know when you're coming, I'll grill ya up some Steaks!
I wonder how it looks on body worn camera when one of the teammates slips a bra or pair of panties on your holstered weapon during the search of the targeted residence? Asking for a friend.
Ghetto lottery.
Remember a “jury” found OJ not guilty.
I agree.
Fix her door, give her $10,000 for her troubles, and call it a day.
The thought that it was a $5 million dollar experience is laughable.
Best comment
Seems like the department has brought back search warrant training, everyone’s going through a 2-day course now. Only thing missing is Phat Phil.
Written and executed tons of warrants myself over the years, can honestly say I’ve never seen an “after action report” where everyone on scene drops paper.
The city’s credit rating just went to junk bond status. What is going on?
100% truth
Where the cartel will seize your fortune and make you disappear
Probably the same dufass that ordered the Sargent Badges
In addition to 33 and a third percent, they get expenses, which on a case that lasted years is a lot the “ traumatized “ victims pay fed and state taxes on the punitive damages
Per order that is the WC duty.
That’s usually the case in civil suits, more than likely it’ll get dropped when the city attys go for appeal then they’ll settle
You have no idea what you’re talking about. The plaintiff won. The city will appeal but there is no settlement when it’s gone to trial and a decision has been rendered. End of day the punitive has to be paid by the officers. This goes on their credit rating and will make it very difficult to get a loan at a good rate.
Guess you’re that guy that’s still out there working hard. Good Luck
Awarded punitive damages, let me say that again. The officers have to pay punitive damages. STOP DOING SEARCH WARRANTS. ITS NOT WORTH IT.
40% + costs.
And depending on the contract-Fees awarded by the Judge
How much did they pay the outside attorneys?
Often that amount is more than the judgment
They should've settled the minute it was learned they hit the wrong house, period. Why fight this one? they settle shootings when cops are shot or shot at, but fight this? Reckless stupidity.
I don’t think those welfare recipients would EARN anything. Their whole existence is thinking up ways of how to scam the system and sponge off of us.
In this case the attorneys fees were to be paid by the officers in addition to the 250K. Let’s hope for a settlement that excludes both.
Lordy Lordy !! They be goin to da horseshoe tonight!!
Sounds like someone is going bankrupt soon.
Blaming the coppers is stupid and short sighted. It is Illinois tort law that is the problem. 100s of millions dollar pay outs have triggered the blood sucking leeches to create this horrible anti cop environment.
Texas Tort law:
Strict Limits on Compensation
Texas law sets firm limits on how much can be recovered, and the amount depends on which entity is involved.
• State or city: $250,000 per person, $500,000
per event
• County or school district: $100,000 per person,
$300,000 per event
Punitive damages are barred, and caps apply in every case regardless of injury severity or ongoing care.
This should be the biggest push from the FOP
Then over here going to arrest ice agents! Want to see first stupid copper that followed this after he is in custody:
https://www.foxnews.com/politics/denver-mayor-orders-ice-agents-detained-assault-shoot-residents
It is but if you are Kevin Bruno and throw everyone under the bus you get promoted twice!
Anyone know the status of the OT that the city owes us?
SWAT executes warrants for affiant teams. There were no BWC for SWAT at that time, this is probably what hurt them, but that was because the department did not issue the BWC to them when everyone else had them. Who was in charge of Bureau at the time? Oh yeah, Eric Carter...maybe he can pay some punitive damages for his incompetence and cronyism...biggest turd in the department at the time... Officers you need to remember something, most of the people leading this department have never done ANY police work, so they dont know what the hell they are doing. They are worried about their next bump up because they are nobodys at home, and they think they are somebody at work. When they retire, they go to the island of misfit Toys...
ghetto lotto wont last a year
City having a bad luck month.
That's why people and folks on the ghetto love when the police screw up.... the ghetto lottery.
That's why they try to start fights with CPD over the most minor thing because they want "to get paid". Try explaining that to Heather
"Eyes gonna get paid!"
Remember who the CI was? A boss's niece's boyfriend
That's an idiot who forgot the cameras are always rolling. Another example of the lowered standards for hiring.
The OJ case was lost by a poor attorney seeking the spotlight and numerous police procedural errors.
Maybe corp counsel chose to fight it even though they knew they could lose. As a lesson to the officers and the rest of us. The punitive damages won't come out of their pockets.
Did any officers testify in their own defense?
What happened to doing a utility check? Right through the CCRoom.
Or how about sitting down the block and stopping and searching a few that came to the house and left in 3 min. That’s a few heads and corroboration that the place is a dope shop.
"You have no idea what you’re talking about. The plaintiff won. The city will appeal but there is no settlement when it’s gone to trial and a decision has been rendered. End of day the punitive has to be paid by the officers. This goes on their credit rating and will make it very difficult to get a loan at a good rate.
Guess you’re that guy that’s still out there working hard. Good Luck"
No, YOU have no idea what YOU ARE talking about. It does go to appeal and as part of the settlement, or appeals ruling, the Officer's punitives may be dropped. Not guaranteed, but happens a good amount of the time. Just because the jury awarded XX millions of dollars and XX in punitive doesn't make it that those amounts are 100% carved in stone and will be paid. Now, whatever the appeals court rules is a different story. Been there, done that, my man.
Jury nullification is a very real thing. Many on a jury just will not convict anyone for a variety of reasons. Many hate police, many believe -even if someone is proven guilty- that the “system” is unfair and broken. We all know why OJ was not convicted. And it sure wasn’t a bad attorney.
Punitive damages and her lawyers fees are coming out of the officers pockets as the case stands now. Appeal or settlement MAY change that , hopefully
You are correct. Punitive damages are to punish. No one can pay them for you. Let’s hope a appeal with overturn the decision or settlement can be reached
As of now the officers have to pay the lawyers fees through punitive damages. That could help them because if a settlement is reached I’m sure the lawyers want to get paid right away so it would be to their advantage to have the city pay them rather than have to collect from the officers
Only drawback is the plaintiffs would not want that because they would have to pay the lawyers probably 1/3 of the 5.7 million judgement. If the officers have to pay the lawyers fees they keep the full 5.7
And remember they have to agree to the settlement.
No worries, folks. I'll just raise your taxes and together we can fill in the needed funds. With me spending your money and you paying more taxes why there is no limit where we can go making all of us - Chitcago Proud.
Thank you for your support. Next week I will talk about the importance of paying your water bills on time.
May your Conehead
Follow the money.
The residents knew it was the Poleece. Come on man.
what's a "sargent" ?
Corp Counsel’s job is to represent the city’s interest, period. This was a stinker and should’ve been settled.
I've seen it firsthand. Some bystander yelling "it's yo payyyday! It's yo PAYYYYDAY!"
Many years ago (15+), I was dumped as a tact sgt for not having done search warrants, though we had the best numbers of the teams. I was good with being dumped, and back to the watch. Was not about to trust some dirtbag with the careers of the officers on the team
“ The residents knew it was the Poleece. Come on man”. When? People in their home. Banging on the door, shouts and then the door is knocked in. Guys in black jump suits, wearing masks, armed with long guns rushing, yelling get on the floor. Is that when they learned it was the police? When you’re wrong, you’re wrong. Pay up.
This is a FYI from California of all places. Supervisors have cash money with them all the time. In this case the narc supervisor might have ten grand. Once the error is apparent, the supervisor offers the citizen a cash settlement. The citizen, in order to get the money, must sign a hold harmless agreement, waiving all future rights to sue. I read they do this in shootings cases too.
That would require actual police work. Also a bit of patience.
How about hiding in the hallway on the stairs, under the porch, in the gangway, and actually SEE your CI make that buy. That's what we did. Only time the wrong joint got hit is when a couple of the lazy DEI members of the team sat a block away while their CI wandered off.
Do actual surveillance on the spot to ascertain if the CI is giving credible information? We don’t because CPD is the shortcut police, that’s why. We do everything half-assed.
You hit it right on the head...
From inside the 5th Floor, the Mayor is saying no deals. He feels it is time for the Police to feel the pain of paying their share of misconduct judgements. This will not be good for us.
Post a Comment
<< Home