Here Comes Another Payout
Does anyone know the Law any more? Or is it all DEI guesswork?
A Chicago man is suing the city and three CPD officers, alleging he was arrested when he tried file a report about bullets he says went missing from his legally owned firearm during a traffic stop.
Qwentin Howard, a registered gun owner who holds both a Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card and a concealed carry license, alleges in a federal lawsuit that Officers [...] and [...] pulled him over and placed his weapon in his trunk during the stop. Howard claims two bullets were missing when he retrieved the gun from his trunk after the stop.
He then drove to the Wentworth (2nd) District station, 5101 South Wentworth Avenue, to file a report about the missing ammunition. According to the lawsuit, that’s when things escalated.
Howard alleges that when he arrived at the station, he met with [the officers], along with their supervisor, [...], and informed them he would be recording the interaction to protect himself. [the supervisor] then allegedly ordered Howard to produce a physical FOID card, despite Howard having already shown [...] an electronic version during the traffic stop earlier that day.
When Howard insisted that an electronic card was legally sufficient, as it is under Illinois law, [the supervisor] allegedly told him, “Well, you have a problem now because you’re accusing my officers of stealing your bullets.” Howard alleges he apologized if he was mistaken, explaining he simply did not want any bullets linked to him turning up later. [the stupidvisor] allegedly ordered [...] to detain Howard. Howard was handcuffed and arrested. [...] told Howard he was being arrested because he “wanted to escalate the issue and make it bigger than it had to be,” the lawsuit claims.
Well, it just got "bigger" than it needed to be (allegedly).
Honest to god, who is this dumb?
Labels: department issues, scandals









166 Comments:
Fuck you....pay me ....
One word: Merit
Sarge was just tryna keep it real when sarge should have just taken the number and let nature take its course. What you wanna bet sarge was a merit appointee….
these new young tac sgts think they’re bad asses. The former 1663. tyrant finally left it’s much quieter now . Time to disband tac to cut on lawsuits and reckless behavior. All they do is get stops get pissers and get sued.
Stupid is as stupid does....
The young officers were doing what they were told and what they thought was right. The Sgt was the biggest idiot going. I guess the Sgt has aspirations for upper leadership. Another over promoted goof.
A nice section 1984 lawsuit always gets attention...
Dramatic aren’t they? Always have to be the star in their own movie.
Electronic FOID cards aka eCards are legally sufficient in Illinois for displaying valid identification to law enforcement and for purchasing firearms or ammunition, provided they are accessed through the official Illinois State Police (ISP) portal and not just a screenshot. The electronic version satisfies state requirements.
In an effort to make it all go away the sergeant uses the intimidation tactic. He chose poorly!
Any dolt who drives to a PD Station to retrieve 2 bullets need his pumpkin examined. Just that stupidity should get his FOID yanked, 2 bullets? Clown
Why would you (POs) do your best to support the public's disdain for you?
So, where the f did these bullets go? And why 2? Seems maybe they were dropped by accident? Then said idk f it!
Improper cycling the slide or magazine removal? Idk. Seems bizarre how this happened.
Hopefully the Department apologizes to this guy
Nothing worse or more dangerous for John Q. Public than disrespecting the "A-thor-a-tay" the wrong copper...
State fop is involved in JC misappropriation fiasco. what definition of misappropriation will they use
If that's what actually happened, he deserves the payout.
Asshole Sgt. WTF!
They stole two bullets? Gold bullets? Or were two missing and happen to be some poor sap you haven't found yet? Hope you took a ballistics check...
Them bullets are gonna be very expensive 🤪
Wow, too dumb and too lazy to do an initiation report
What are the chances this sergeant became a sergeant via the merit process?
P.S. To the non police who read this blog, the meritorious process is a way to gain a promotional rank to detective, sergeant and higher ranks without passing the promotional test. This whole process gets even worse.
1. Well how does the city of Chicago define merit? Well the city of Chicago refuses to define it, describe it or have it written down on their directive system.
2. Who determines the merit promotional process? The bosses do. So who gets to be promoted via the meritorious process? The bosses relatives, girlfriends/mistress. Yes, sex is exchanged for a merit promotion.
3. To legitimize this corrupt process they promote a very small number that deserve it via their hard work.
4. If the police department this openly corrupt then how corrupt are they behind closed doors?
Take the complaint, go about your day. If they stole 2 bullets which is highly unlikely, the cameras should either exonerate them or bury them. As a supervisor, just do your job. Its really that easy. Let BIA or COPA chase the lead down, it isn't your job to do any investigation at the district level.
If this happened the way he says, and it’s recorded. They’re clowns. But seriously, why take two bullets?
Would’ve taken 10 minutes at most to pull a CR number and do the report. Next time if you need help call CR Chen.
Glad I moved to a Constitutional Carry state after I retired. No FOID, no CC card, none of this bullshit. Unfortunately still need LEOSA card every year just to travel to Illinois to visit. Every other fucking state I frequent is Constitutional Carry and reciprocates with my state.
Lynyrd Skynyrd said it in a song. Gimme back…gimme back my bullets
More merit brain drain.
Now, kees me you fool!!!!
He wasn’t the one in the wrong…
where do i sign up?
Let’s start talking at 1 million.
All you had to do is ask the stupid complainant if he is directly accusing the officers of stealing the bullets, if no, then just give him his lost property report and send him on his way. If yes, then do the CR, the body cams will tell the truth. After all, we are talking about tac officers, were the body cams turned on?
When keeping it real goes wrong. I keeps it real.
Sounds like you're the "Honest to God, who's this dumb?" that SCC was referring to.
If LEOs want to know why the law-abiding citizens that used to support law enforcement no longer do, it's actions like this.
Can someone please explain how certain people do great at the merit interview but can’t pass a promotional test?? They knock the merit interview out of the park for detective, Sgt and Lt but can pass one test.
If BJ the Clown was a PO or SGT he’d be any of those three.
The Chicago Firefighters Union, CFFU Local 2 managed to get the merit process in writing in their contact, shame on the FOP Lodge 7 for not doing the same.
Correct. A couple of the State guys co-signed for J. Kitten early on when the “crazy broads” first sounded the alarm for the THEFT (NOT misappropriation) of OUR money.
State FOP ran interference and basically staged and then sabotaged the hearing where the crazy broads presented their evidence. Only problem? Emails never go away. Emails that were tracked and provided to the Feds when it was discovered the fix was in. Do you think the shakeup with several of the State FOP Board is coincidence?
Both parties were down in Springfield recently for an appeal hearing in front of a new panel and J Puds loyal Recording Secretary No-See-Duh screwed the pooch royally, providing answers that incriminated Catanzara and Crew. So much so that Johnny Boy had to cut him off before he rambled on, further digging their hole.
They’re all thick as thieves, the State FOP originally blindly supporting Catanzara as he’s the State Lodge VP. Little did they know that the Feds were already a couple years into their investigation of our FOP which spilled over into the State realm. Now they’re all sweating and abandoning ship in Springfield. Rats, one and all. Perhaps the State boys realize the first ones on the bus get the best seat, something Lodge 7’s dirty Board seems to not understand. They’re all continuing to hang on John’s nuts like good little lemmings.
Tick, tock Johnny Boy. Tick, tock indeed.
Since city going to be paying out again, how about paying the officers the retro from vri that is owed to them already.
Have 202 give him a lost report.Have a wonderful day Howard. Bullets probably somewhere in your vehicle. Next complaint.
You’re an idiot.
OT. Shooting in Austin TX may have been motivated by terrorism.
Name the state lol
So, two bullets were allegedly missing, and this guy takes the time to go to a district and file a report? And a supervisor orders him arrested? Something is missing here.
Phonetically-spelled first name, always a Red Flag.
Amen!
Another stupidvisor allowing that white shirt to go to his head.
Sorry that’s when you call the WOL.
The WOl approved the arrest report and charges… so he also didn’t realize that an electronic foid card was valid….they should be sued civilly and have to pay punitive damages…imagine having to pay dude $1000 a month for 50 months…
It’s 2026 give the man his report and get a number on the officers. The old ways are over, anyone afraid of getting a number was never a working cop in the first place. You sound like tge CLOWN
How can an unfired cartridge be traced to the FOID Citizen’s pistol?
The Bullet has not been fired, so no lands & grooves.
The Powder has not been fired, so no Gun Shot Residue ( GSR) on Shooter; no close range powder stippling on Victim,
The Primer is unfired, so no Firing Pin marks.
The Cartridge Case is unfired, so no Extractor and/or Ejector marks.
However, the unfired Cartridge Case could have Fingerprints.
Possibly, there could be Fingerprints ( partial) on a metal jacketed Bullet.
When your car shows up at the scene of a crime what’s the first thing you do?
What does this mean?
His issue was not the value of the bullet missing. He merely wanted on record that they were missing in case they were turn up at a crime scene. Not unreasonable. He even opined that he might be mistaken. As others have said, he apparently knows the law better than a sergeant of police.
This guy didn’t seem to accuse the officers of wrongdoing.
There are plenty of sergeant that dumb... and lieutenants, POs, commanders, etc... If that story is accurate, I hope all involved lose everything and get some jail time.
I think the guy is worried that the 2 bullets will show up on crime scene with either his fingerprints or DNA on them
Ooooh, so close.
Blame the CSI effect where TV tells people they can be tracked down and charged from a single bullet.
Nope. Anybody who doesn't realize the dude was correct in protecting his ass in case those cops wish to f the man up with "evidence" is the clown, or hasn't been around Chicago for very long.
Guaranteed DEI. The experience has left this organization. People that knew how to navigate and lead the troops is long gone.
No the idiot is the one who wants him arrested for trying to get a CR. Get the # let it get pitched out! Real fucking simple!
Lots of new tact Sgt. Trying to duck the watch. Look at what happened in 005
Everybody's a monday morning quarterback. How Easy , it is to turn on each other.
Not really. I've had tac try and pull bs on a stop before. When they learned my passenger was a lawyer it suddenly stopped and we were wished a pleasant evening.
Cream of the crop always rises to the top, be the change!
You are the clown.
He was absolutely right. What happened to his ammunition? He has a right to know.
10000%!!
FOID yanked for what???
Are you a moron???
Never come back.
Lack of accountability for white shirts and leadership training.
That is almost every single white shirt in 002…starting with the moronic commander and his cadre of Sgt whores that adore him
Uh thanks captain obvious…you can read the article…
What is on the test? Can they study for it, or is merit literally meant only for retarded cops?
Omg I wouldn’t be able to go on with life without you telling me where you live…don’t really care
The sergeant was not merit.
3 bosses in the making. I hope they at least got an early duck that day lol
I bet the two bullets are in the mopes holster or the backseat of his vehicle. It happens all the time. Officers are constantly topping off their weapons.
Instigating a basis for civil lawsuit resulting in kickback opportunity for getting that bling.
Then you pay it.
Prove that they actually existed.
The Sgt fumbled. Take the report/CR & go about your day. The PO’s should have spoken up but they will speak up at their federal court date.
Check the wheel-well of the trunk.
They probably rolled in there. The new owner of the car will find them in 10 years. 🤣
I'm backing the officer and sgt.bAny negative comments about them should result in you working midnights in a bad neighborhood doing traffic stops on dangerous cars with guns.
Don't fuck with my gun.
Unneeded manipulations invite mistakes.
If my magazine came up missings rounds after an interaction, you bet I would be persuing it.
+1
The state Lodge has also received subpoenas from the Feds pertaining to their part in JCats “financial disparities” aka “misappropriation” aka Theft. As they say…… “Sometimes the cover up is worse than the crime”.
The “Old Sarg” would have went back to his car with him and searched his trunk for the bullets explaining that he could have dropped them or miscounted them and if that proved negative he could have scrounged up two rounds and made him happy. Honey gathers more flies than vinegar.
I Saw Kamala out Duck Hunting with Elmer Fudd Says:
Hey, it takes all kinds to make a world ..
Yes! Bingo!
Now lets see if the city fired the sgt. Like they did the mass transit guy for a far less severe, but similar occurrence.
What’s great is that these types of crimes have recently been put under a microscope with 2 or 3 police union presidents from various departments across the country having been convicted and sentenced to imprisonment for exactly what John Cantanzara has done. Precedent has been set and our federal brethren don’t fuck around when it comes to doing thorough, legit investigations. What’s more, mandatory serving of 85% of your sentence is no joke. No ankle monitor, house arrest or probation for JCat when the smoke clears. I can’t help but think who else is going down with the SS LODGE 7 and which of John’s trusted ball polishers talked. Just a mildly strong rumor for now, but there’s rumblings that their Springfield wannabe politician Cos has either been personally caught on a wire trying to “make things go away” for Catanzara or his name and request has been caught on a wire. Made me think of Blago with his “effing golden” crack.
lost & found case report
I would have just given him two rounds and told him to fuck off
Broads, booze and bullets
To really understand the meritorious 'process' it is easier to comprehend if you think of it as the MAYORTORIUS To acknowledge the political angle involved.
Who was the WOL who approved the arrest report? Is it the all merit now Commander of 002 Herb Williams?
Dont forget the watch commander had to approve this insanity . Picture yourself i the wc office pulling up this arrest report . If you have lt bars on and you dont call these bozos in to the office and demand answers and get a cr number on them for being just plain dumb then u need to resign
Under Illinois law (430 ILCS 65/6.2), the electronic version of your FOID card (eCard) is legally equivalent to the physical card. Since 01-JAN-2022. (Google is free)
The Sgt involved is one of the best street cops I ever worked with. He is not merit made it by score. And he has no aspirations of leadership. He’s counting down the day to retire.
So almost every comment is BS. He is one of the few real police I ever worked with, and I realize in this case he was trying to protect his guys, but he’s an old school guy and prob not equipped to fix the issue under a new a modern police dept.
OT But did those peoples finally plant fake Rev Jessie Jerkoffs body somewhere. Any dump will suffice. Tired of hearing about that FOOL!
Why steal guns from evidence rooms? Why scam with tow truck drivers? Or dope boys? Or shoot your partner in the back??? cpd has a history of doing dumb shit , so can’t blame the guy
Good luck with this Sarge. You stood up for your guys.
Why do you think it’s highly unlikely that one or both of them stole the bullets? Cops do dumb shit all the time because A.) they’re cheap as shit and B.) they do it for shits and giggles and they love to talk about it afterwards.
Captain Obvious, actually provided some additional information that might prove valuable to some other young officer. Have you thought of becoming a sergeant?
3/02/2026 09:09:29 AM
As a non police officer this question scares me...... how do you load your bullets?? Do you use your fingers?? Probably your thumb???? Still don't get it???? FINGERPRINTS. In every job there are great, good, avg. & shitty level of knowledgeable people. the job you're supposed to be doing. If I were stopped I too would want to know where those bullets are. I don't blame the whole profession but how many officers you work with cut corners etc. I don't want my brass ending up on a crime scene W/ my thumbprint on it.
That’s what Jimmy P told me before I got on the job. Words to live by.
“Prove that they actually existed.“ Why? Someone else spoke to the CSI TV shows. The citizen himself said they may not actually have been lost. Have many nonsensical reports have you written? Probably a lot. How hard would it have been to create a three sentence report which would have satisfied this guy? Instead they hustled him off to jail. His lucky day and a bad day for the city and the cops involved. John Q is about to come into a lot of money. There will be no jury trial. Everyone agrees what happened. The judge will instruct the jury that as a matter of law there was a constitutional violation and it’s their duty to set the amount of damages. We just had some cops about to lose their life’s savings in the search warrant case.
Sorry best we can do is more rdo cancelled this year.
Who you gonna call? Ghostbusters!
OT: Interesting read. Police Chief fires three veterans who have a disability rating with the VA.
Not sure people realize a VA rating no matter what percent does not mean you can’t work.
https://www.lawofficer.com/veteran-license-plates/
Kick the spent shell casings down the sewer, and 19P it.
Ole J Green just posted another video of he and Maria Pappas at some event. He’s singing in the video. Fancies himself a lot of everything yet he is nothing.
fat fingered it... 1983
If he’s such a knowledgeable street cop/Sgt why not just get the CR and let the investigation play out?
that one black merit sergeant cost the city millions, tactical set. shaking down his drug dealing competition.
wait a minute willis, complainant wasn't sure police took bullets. he wanted to protect himself if bullets found at a crime scene. L&F case report ,missing bullets. Here's your report Sir,RD#. if you locate bullets ,notify us.
It means that dork has nothing else in life except being a cop that works overtime.
Take it easy Mr. non police, and why would your brass end up on a crime scene?
BIA will get him.
Wow a FOID and a CCW card! That's almost as rare as car insurance!
Can you blame the man, CPD has a history of framing crimes against the innocent 🤔🧐https://unraveledpress.com/cpd-leaders-knew-cop-proposed-hiring-hitman-to-kill-fellow-detective-new-federal-lawsuit-alleges/
I hope DOGE come take over the entire City & State… Things have gone too far 🤑
Big bad tact Sgt wanted to show dei officers how it’s done hahahahahaha
The merit promotion system is by far the worst in the country. Worst part is, once they get one merit, they get another. It should be one bump at the most. It’s pathetic.
It's not like the CPD has any history of mishandling weapons before. Like, they never took any guns from a buyback that were supposed to be melted down/destroyed, and later turned up in a crime, right? Trust, but verify
Did i miss .. or just click through.. the e-learning on this?... then used the secret but not so secret "study guided answers" to pass it??
Asking in case I get called to testify about my "training" on this.
Get rid of tac , 016 tac pulled over my kid for BS no speeding no reckless driving etc , I guess that’s who they have to pull over driving through 016 . Get the easy fish girl
He is not old school. He got hired in 2002, that’s not old school. One of the best street cops? He was tac in 007 bc of DEI, never did more than get a couple nickle bags of weed and gamblers. His day to retire might come sooner than he hoped if he gets the same treatment as the CTA Sgt (read case below). Similar circumstances, complainant wants to file complaint, Sgt orders improper arrest.
https://www.chicagocopa.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/2020-0000630_FSR.pdf
Yep, cpd is an expert in that field.
No loyalty and zero unity!
Hey will be standing by them at call-back too
I think part of the reason is he’s worried those bullets can be used in a crime, or somehow planted to pin something on him. And I’m sure what he experienced only confirmed his fears.
Or maybe work midnight basketball
Thought it interesting when Chris hastily retired 🤔
Florida recently adopted this position
They knock the merit interview out of the park for detective, Sgt and Lt but can pass one test.
3/02/2026 07:52:17 AM
They can all pass part I hahaha
Hot about this…shitty level of knowledgeable TROLL-don’t get stopped in the first place!
Detective is not a rank or promotion. It's an assignment.
It's not a bullet, it's a cartridge (round). If you don't know the difference, as most of you don't, you have no business owning a firearm. You probably call a magazine a clip. Did you forget your training already?
That's right. Create work for the desk crew because of some tact team BS.
A sergeant is a leader. If he doesn't have those aspirations, he shouldn't have taken the promotion.
A false arrest is standing up for your guys?
You don't know the difference between a cartridge and a bullet. I'd say that makes you the shitty level of knowledgeable people.
Barney Fife has his bullets in his shirt pocket.
TDS is a real affliction and appearantly like a virus CDS is a new strain of the virus, just on a local level. Tick Tock has Al Gores climate clock, as he was supposed to be arrested last year. The constant crapping on President Catanazara is the new Campaign ad of misinformation for The Grahm, the camera hider, and 19th ward cuck Donahue lovers that lost the power of political theft. Seek therapy and you can KMA too
100!!! Had to be a merit promotion. Should be fired.
Put em’ back where they belong.
Would you care to take a guess at how many LIVE rounds I've recovered at crime scenes, working on the south and west sides for over 25 years?
Tell your kid to quit driving like an asshole and being an asshole but they probably learned that shit from you Mr Crybaby
Ok Karen…you know what they meant
Bullet / cartridge. Magazine / clip. Who cares goof. This isnt a guns and ammo forum. Everyone here knows what is meant with out your nomenclature correction. Go back to class or learing center.
Got on in 86, sent to 002. WC was a big italian old school brawler Lt. who had a brick on him for throwing a street deputy out of the station. Knew he wasn't going anywhere. Lt. Russ( We'll call him that) called me and my partner in one night. We walked in and there was a guy laid out on the floor. The place was as quiet as a church mass, no one said anything. Russ instructed us to drag him into the lockup and tell them to lock him up. Dude came into the station. Called everyone punks , said they weren't shit without badges and guns. Lt. Russ took off his star, threw his gun into a desk drawer , came out and blasted the fool once in the face, knocking him out. The Lt. used to box, Golden Gloves. We each grabbed a leg and dragged him to the lockup. They were expecting him....
Retired KMA we all know Coz and Johnny boy put October 1st on the blog to make it out like someone else did. Johnny and company have been spreading misinformation for a year now to see where it comes up. Go away Johnny and stuff your piñata for the good bye party.
Is report it stolen the answer?
add another B bucks
Bullet.
One.
So the President outs himself and puts out that he was gonna be charged way back in early September to throw everyone off for a month. He must have wanted to throw gas on the fire to put out all the bad talk about him to go on for 3 -4 weeks before nothing happened. Who wouldnt want to have continous hatred through lies and misinformation spread about themself? He must be a diabolical self emasculating genius! You can KMA and SMD moron.
I don't think it works like that in 002
Free State of Florida for the win!
Enter Henry Hill “Goodfellas” laughing meme
More proof that test scores aren’t the be all, end all
Why is the City still taking complaints at station? COPA is funded /has a website/ Has homicide trained INVESTIGATORs with various social worker degrees. Since The white shirts seem so corrupt have COPA take all the complaints! If you want to cut the police budget cut out CPD doing COPAs mandated and funded JOB.
another merit with yet again 1k in medical time just like the cmdr
wrong
Makes no difference what you call it. The Sgt will be given 5 days for not taking the complaint.
Problem is : you have idiots with 6 years on that are supervisors !! And more are coming ! Fuckers that have not worked the streets that’s who’s supervising ! It’s scary
Post a Comment
<< Home